Curving back on my Self

Columbine

Columbine in our garden

David and I have been living in our Maharishi Vastu home for more than a year now. It has been a remarkable experience for both of us and this seems to be a good time to reflect on the changes that have occurred as a result of living in Vastu.

It has taken me some time to write this entry because it is difficult to pinpoint the most  significant theme of the year. However, the phrase I quoted in the title has given me a starting point. It comes from the Bhagavad-Gita, which Maharishi describes as the essence of Vedic literature.

“Curving back upon My own Nature (My Self), I create again and again.” – Bhagavad-Gita 9.8

Upon reflection, I realize that every experience since moving into this house has brought me back to my Self. By that I mean that there always seems to be a moment when I realize the ‘lesson’ of an event  – a deeper understanding of the purpose behind it, or an acknowledgement of something I needed to learn, or why something I did was the absolute best thing to do at that time.

KalashMany times I had the experience that ‘doing less’ actually did ‘accomplish more’. The experience was of an effortless flow underlying everything – what needed to be done was achieved, without unnecessary fuss or effort from me. Have the desire or intention and let it go. Then Nature can, and will, support the desire – at times much to my amazement as I get used to this experience.

The theme of ‘accomplishing more’ has been all-pervading; it has applied to all areas of life, not just the material world, but personal and spiritual growth as well.

Can I honestly say that ‘every experience of the past year has brought me back to my Self’, the big ‘S’ Self that is the basis of life? Yes, I believe I can, and each time there is a growth in understanding. The number of revelations I have had in the past year have greatly surpassed anything that has happened to me before – knowledge about me, my relationships with others, my purpose in life, how the universe unfolds, and so on.

Life certainly is amazing – and even more amazing than we realize!

This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Curving back on my Self

  1. annie holtby says:

    loved reading this and ‘feeling’ your amazing space.

Leave a Reply

